Your cart
Close Alternative Icon
✔ Awarded best in test by Stiftung Warentest, ADAC, AUTO BILD and others ✔ 2 years warranty – incl. battery ✔ Awarded best in test by Stiftung Warentest, ADAC, AUTO BILD and others ✔ 2 years warranty – incl. battery ✔ Free delivery of e-scooters within Germany

Company

1,200 m², a team of 25, 2 brands and one vision

Several tens of thousands electric scooters of our two brands EGRET and THE-URBAN are cruising the streets already. But have you ever wondered, why you never see them with the hashtag #scootersbehaving badly? Because we develop and distribute small, foldable electric scooters that set the standard for the industry.


A love story that changed mobility as we knew it

Florian’s passion for electric scooters started rather by chance. In the early 2000s, he was touring all of Europe and Asia as tour manager. To cover the huge distances in the venues, his girlfriend gave him an electric scooter. At that time, no-one could possibly know that this would be the beginning of a great love affair – that finally changed mobility as we knew it.

Soon, the electric scooter became indispensable for Florian. He started to do small repairs himself in order to avoid sending the vehicle in. Gradually, he had gained such a comprehensive knowledge and was bothering the manufacturer with ideas to optimize the product. Without further ado, the manufacturer hired him as service provider. Following several tens of thousands of electric scooters that Florian co-developed and distributed, he was sure of one thing: No more compromises. 

 

Political involvement in the form of a limited liability company and proof of concept

In 2011, Florian founded Walberg Urban Electrics. Times were not in favour of electric scooters as they were not legal in any European country. An obstacle for others, a challenge for Florian. He was one of the first to realize that there would be an enormous market for these small, intuitively usable vehicles. At the same time, he thought it was ridiculous they were illegal due to the fact they did not fit into any of the already existing categories. 

As a result, he initiated the first steps to create a new category: In Brussels, he founded a technical committee within a work group. Together with global players such as Honda, Toyota or Segway he was laying the foundation for the new vehicle class by defining the technical specifications.

In 2012 already, Walberg Urban Electrics started distributing the premium brand EGRET. The tremendous success of the company provided his proof of concept: Florian had opened a huge market despite the difficult legal situation. In 2017, the second brand THE-URBAN followed. THE-URBAN targets a younger, more price sensitive audience. 

The growing pressure from more and more users who finally wanted to ride their electric scooters legally in the streets, politics needed to act. One European country after the other allowed the vehicles or put them on a level with bikes. In spring 2019, Germany finally passed the decree with the poetic name Elektrokleinstfahrzeugeverordnung. With a maximum speed of 20 km/h, mandatory certification of the lighting system and compulsory insurance, Germany currently has one of the strictest restrictions for the use of electric scooters in Europe. Without Florian’s persistent commitment and his intrepid proof of concept with several tens of thousands of electric scooters, the legalization would still be out of reach. 

Currently, Walberg Urban Electrics is the only manufacturer with a total of five electric scooters that meet German regulations: EGRET-TEN V4, EGRET EIGHT V3, THE-URBAN #HMBRG V3, THE-URBAN #BRLN V3, THE-URBAN #RVLTN. Each of these models has a counterpart with a higher maximum speed (depending on the model between 25 km/h and 30 km/h) to meet the requirements of other European markets.

 

Development, sales and service from one source

In the last couple of months, the team of Walberg Urban Electrics has grown remarkably and now consists of 25 people from eight countries. Offices, workshop and warehouse for spare parts are located on three floors with a total of 1,200 m². Product development, marketing, international sales, after sales, service, hr and accounting, all the departments are represented in the historic Speicherstadt of Hamburg. The large inventories are handled by an external warehouse, orders are shipped around the world by a forwarding service provider. 

Production of the electric scooters is located in China. A team on site is taking care of smooth operations. In addition, every production is supervised by a team from Hamburg. Long-term cooperation with the industry partners and suppliers, is yet another essential feature for Walberg Urban Electrics to guarantee a consistently high level of quality.

 

Quality control and customer service

Due to an extensive know how in the production of electric scooters, Walberg Urban Electrics has established a sound quality control system with their suppliers in China. At the end of the production chain, every vehicle needs to undergo a 100% quality check. As soon as the goods arrive in Hamburg, Germany, a second check is performed to verify the first results. This way, Walberg Urban Electrics makes sure the electric scooters always meet the very high quality standards. At the same time, this differentiates the company from competitors in the lower price segment. 

 

The city of the future – from vision to reality

Florian himself started as a user of electric scooters. His own experience made him realize the huge potential of this new form of mobility. The legalization in most European countries is already a success for him, but his vision continues: Florian wants to establish electric scooters as an integral part of an emission-free mobility. 

In the coming years, cities will need to arrange spaces in a new way – away from vehicles with combusting engines towards alternative forms of mobility. Electric scooters, particularly the foldable version, can be easily combined with public transportation or the own car. This way, they are a significant means to avoid gridlock. They will become a significant element of the city of the future. To turn this vision into reality, Florian and his team fight every day.  

 

x

EN
EN

Dein Warenkorb
Alternative schließen Icon

Unternehmen

1.200 m², 25 MitarbeiterInnen, 2 Marken und eine Vision

Mehrere zehntausend Elektroroller der Marken EGRET und THE-URBAN von Walberg Urban Electrics sind bereits heute auf den Straßen Europas unterwegs. Und noch nie hat man eines unserer Fahrzeuge unter dem Hashtag #scootersbehavingbadly gesichtet. Wieso das so ist? Weil wir kleine, faltbare Elektroroller entwickeln und vertreiben, die in den Punkten Design und Qualität den Standard für die gesamte Industrie setzen.

 

Eine große Liebe, die unsere Mobilität verändert

Angefangen hat Florians Leidenschaft für Elektroroller ganz zufällig. Anfang der 2000er war er als Tourneemanager in ganz Europa und Asien unterwegs. Um die großen Distanzen in den Veranstaltungshallen besser überbrücken zu können, schenkte ihm seine Freundin einen Elektroroller. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt konnte niemand ahnen, dass dies der Beginn einer großen Liebe sein würde, die letztendlich eine Mobilitätswende in ganz Europa einleitete.

Der Elektroroller wurde für Florian bald unverzichtbar. Kleinere Reparaturen führte er selbst durch, um das Fahrzeug nicht einschicken zu müssen. Mit der Zeit hatte er sich ein derart umfassendes Wissen angeeignet und lag dem Hersteller mit Ideen zur Optimierung in den Ohren, sodass dieser ihn kurzerhand als Dienstleister einstellte. Nachdem Florian auf diesem Weg mehrere zehntausend Elektroroller mitentwickelt und vertrieben hatte, war ihm klar, dass er keine Kompromisse mehr eingehen wollte.

 

Politisches Engagement in Form einer GmbH und Proof of Concept

2011 gründete Florian Walberg Urban Electrics in eine Zeit hinein, in der Elektroroller in keinem europäischen Land legal waren. Für andere ein Hindernis, sah Florian darin eine Herausforderung. Ihm war schon damals klar, dass es für die kleinen, intuitiv nutzbaren Fahrzeuge einen riesigen Markt geben würde. Gleichzeitig erschien Florian das Verbot der Fahrzeugklasse allein durch die Begründung, sie passe in keine existierende Kategorie, absurd.

Konsequenterweise leitete er die entsprechenden Schritte in die Wege, um eine passende Kategorie ins Leben zu rufen: In Brüssel gründete er zusammen mit Global Playern wie Honda, Toyota und Segway ein technisches Komitee innerhalb einer Arbeitsgruppe. Ziel dieser Arbeitsgruppe war es, durch die Definition der technischen Spezifikationen den Grundstein der neuen Fahrzeugklasse zu legen.

Bereits 2012 startet Walberg Urban Electrics den Vertrieb der Premiummarke EGRET. Durch den großen Erfolg des Unternehmens lieferte Florian bereits damals den Nachweis, dass es für die Fahrzeugklasse trotz der schwierigen legalen Situation einen riesigen Markt gab. 2017 folge mit THE-URBAN die zweite Marke von Walberg Urban Electrics für eine jüngere, preissensiblere Zielgruppe.

Unter dem wachsenden Druck der zahlreichen Fahrer, die ihre Elektroroller endlich auch legal im Straßenverkehr nutzen wollten, wurde endlich auch die Politik aktiv. Immer mehr europäische Länder legalisierten Elektroroller oder stellten sie rechtlich Fahrrädern gleich. Im Frühjahr 2019 verabschiedete auch Deutschland die Elektrokleinstfahrzeugeverordnung. Mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 20 km/h, einer vorgeschriebenen Zertifizierung des Lichtsystems sowie einer Versicherungspflicht hat Deutschland aktuell die strengsten Regelungen für Elektrokleinstfahrzeuge in Europa. Ohne Florians beharrliches Engagement und seinen unerschrockener Proof of Concept mit mehreren zehntausend verkauften Elektrorollern, wäre die Legalisierung sicherlich nach wie vor in weiter Ferne.

Walberg Urban Electrics ist aktuell der einzige Hersteller, der insgesamt fünf Modelle mit Straßenzulassung in Deutschland entwickelt und vertreibt: EGRET-TEN V4, EGRET EIGHT V3, THE-URBAN #HMBRG V3, THE-URBAN #BRLN V3, THE-URBAN #RVLTN. Zusätzlich gibt es jeweils ein Pendant mit einer höheren Höchstgeschwindigkeit (je nach Modell zwischen 25 km/h und 30 km/h), um den Anforderungen der anderen europäischen Märkte gerecht werden zu können.

 

Entwicklung, Vertrieb und Service aus einer Hand

Das Team um Florian ist in den letzten Monaten stark gewachsen. Mittlerweile beschäftigt Walberg Urban Electrics 25 Mitarbeiter aus acht Ländern. Büro, Werkstatt und Ersatzteillager erstrecken sich in der historischen Hamburger Speicherstadt über drei Böden und insgesamt 1.200 m². Hier werden alle Bereiche von Entwicklung, Marketing und internationaler Vertrieb über After Sales, Service, HR und Buchhaltung abgebildet. Die großen Warenbestände werden durch ein externes Lager bearbeitet und durch unseren Speditionsdienstleister in die Welt verschickt.

 

Produziert werden die Elektroroller in China. Ein Team vor Ort stellt den reibungs­losen Ablauf sicher. Jede Pro­duktion wird zudem von Hamburger Kollegen begleitet. Die lang­jährige Zusammenarbeit mit den produzierenden Unternehmen und Zulieferern ist ein weiterer Baustein, mit dem WUE sicherstellt, dass immer nach dem gleichen hohen Standard produziert wird.

 

Qualitäts­kontrolle und Kunden­service

Durch über viele Jahre gewachsenes Know-how in der Produkt­ion von E-Scootern, hat Walberg Urban Electrics ein solides Qualitäts­sicherungs­system bei ihren Liefer­anten in China etabliert. Jedes Fahr­zeug wird noch in der Produkt­ion einer 100 %igen Quali­täts­kontrolle unter­zogen. Sobald die Ware in Hamburg ange­kommen ist, wird eine weitere Prüfung durch­geführt, um die Test­ergeb­nisse aus Asien zu verifi­zieren. Auf diesem Wege wird sicher­gestellt, dass die hohen Qualitäts­ansprüche von WUE erfüllt werden. Die Kunden profi­tieren von der Verläss­lich­keit der Fahr­zeuge. Zugleich grenzt Walberg Urban Electrics sich durch den eigenen Stand­ard von günsti­geren Mit­bewerbern ab.

 

Die Stadt der Zukunft – von der Vision zur Realität

Florian hat selbst als Nutzer von Elektrorollern begonnen und als einer der ersten das große Potenzial dieser Mobilitätsform erkannt. Die Legalisierung in den meisten europäischen Ländern ist für ihn bereits ein großer Erfolg. Doch seine Vision geht weiter: Florian will die Elektroroller als festen Bestandteil einer emissionsfreien Mobilität etablieren.

Frau steht in einem Tunnel auf ihrem THE-URBAN E-Scooter

In den kommenden Jahren werden in Städten die Räume neu verteilt werden müssen – weg vom Auto mit Verbrennungsmotor, hin zu alternativen Mobilitätsformen. Der Elektroroller kann insbesondere in seiner faltbaren Version als perfekte Kombination mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln oder dem eigenen Auto urbane Räume nachhaltig entlasten. Damit stellt diese Fahrzeugkategorie ein signifikantes Element in der Gestaltung der Stadt der Zukunft dar. Damit diese Vision möglichst schnell Realität wird, kämpfen Florian und sein Team tagtäglich.